Marshall Distinguished Lecture Series

The Jonathan and Maxine Marshall Distinguished Lecture Series brings nationally known scholars concerned with promoting culture through the humanities and a better understanding of the problems of democracy to Arizona State University.

This annual free public lecture is funded with a gift from Jonathan and Maxine Marshall.

An Evening with Eddie Glaude Jr.

2023 featured speaker

Tuesday, Oct. 17 at 7 p.m. | Roskind Great Hall (ARM 101)

Register to attend.

About the speaker

Glaude is a passionate educator, author and political commentator. He has authored a number of books on Black communities, the difficulties of race in the United States and the challenges we face as a democracy. He has also written award-winning books on religion and philosophy. He is the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor and Chair of the Department of African American Studies at Princeton University and a contributor on programs like Morning Joe and Deadline: White House with Nicolle Wallace. He also regularly appears on Meet the Press on Sundays and is a columnist for TIME Magazine. 

Parking information

Visitor parking is available in several lots and parking garages near the venue. All parking fees are the responsibility of event attendees. For a list of parking locations and associated fees, please visit

Year Lecturer Title
2022 Rita Dove American poet and essayist
2021 Clint Smith III #1 New York Times bestselling author

Colson Whitehead

American novelist
2018 Claudia Rankine Award-winning author
2017 Roger Cohen Journalist and author
2016 Amy Goodman Host and executive producer of Democracy Now!
2015 Jane Smiley Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist, essayist and biographer
2014 Charles Blow Visual op-ed columnist for The New York Times
2013 David Walsh Chief sports writer of the British newspaper The Sunday Times
2012 Russ Feingold Former senator, public speaker, educator.
2011 Nikki Giovanni World-renowned poet, activist and educator
2010 Kerry Kennedy International human rights advocate and author
2009 Heather Rae Award-winning Cherokee film director and producer
2008 Calvin Trillin Humorist, journalist and author
2007 Robin Wright Acclaimed journalist
2006 Jon Meacham Managing Editor of Newsweek
2005 Seymour Hersh Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist
2004 Paul Krugman Professor, Economist, Author and New York Times Columnist
2003-cancelled Wendy Wasserstein Playwright
2002 Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. Senior attorney, Natural Resources Defense Council
2001-cancelled Martha Nussbaum Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics, University of Chicago
2000 Baruch Blumberg Director, NASA's Astrobiology Institute
1998 Martin Marty Director, Public Religion Project, University of Chicago School of Divinity
1997 Daniel Goldhagen Author, “Hitler's Willing Executioners: Ordinary Germans and the Holocaust”
1997 Arthur Caplan Director, Center of Bioethics, University of Pennsylvania
President, American Association of Bioethics
1996 Doris Kearns Goodwin Pulitzer Prize winning historian
1995 Lester Brown Founder, WorldWatch Institute
1994 Thomas Wicker Former editorial columnist, The New York Times
1993 Arthur Schlesinger, Jr. Pulitzer Prize winning historian